Invité du mois

A YOUNG JOURNALIST OF 80

Photo: © WHIB / P.VIROT

Interview with Gordon Martin, journalist.

JEAN MICHEL JAKOBOWICZ

How did you start your career as a journalist?
I became a journalist in many ways purely by chance. I studied Classics and Modern languages at Oxford, and spent the years 1951-53 doing some dilettante research into the teaching of Greek in Florence in the 14th century. Then, I first set foot in Switzerland in 1953 as a teacher of Latin at a big international school in St. Gallen, followed by a spell teaching English for the British Council in Finland, and finally a year as a graduate student at the College of Europe in Bruges. Then I thought it was time to settle down to a steady career, and talked my way into a job in the wine-trade. But at the last minute I joined Reuters News Agency, since despite the prevailing prejudice against University graduates in Fleet Street, Reuters took two such trainees each year. Since I spoke Italian, they sent me to Rome, where I spent two wonderful years, 1955-57. The mid-50s were the great years of the dolce vita in Rome, and we had a marvellous boss, who lived at the top of a medieval tower overlooking the Forum, where we were often invited, and his wife Jenny, who was a daughter of Robert Graves the poet and historian.

What lessons have you learned from life as a journalist?